Home > Uncategorized > Fun With Fundies: The Scopes Trial 2.0

Fun With Fundies: The Scopes Trial 2.0

By OTOOLEFAN

The Scopes Trial was nearly 100 years ago and yet, here we are in the 21st Century and this battle still goes on, even on Twitter. It’s discouraging though not surprising that there are people who still unquestionably declare the world to be roughly only 6000 years old; a belief not even shared by most mainstream Christian denominations, let alone religious skeptics. How can we expect people to accept climate change when they’re walking around (fully erect, I might add) with foolish notions lodged in their brain about the age of our planet itself?  But I guess we must remember that this is the same country where more people believe in angels than Evolution.

The following is an exchange I had on Twitter with a Fundamentalist Christian from Texas:

OTOOLEFAN: Man up? You’re the one who goes around bragging about blocking girls on Twitter!

bill453: I blocked her for mocking God.

OTOOLEFAN: How Christian.

bill453: When reason is repeatedly rejected we turn them over to Satan.

bill453: Who are you to judge what is Christian?

OTOOLEFAN: How old do you believe the Earth to be?

bill453: About 6 thousand years just like the Bible says.

OTOOLEFAN: Fossils are just a trick, right? Flintstones is a documentary?

bill453: Why would I think fossils are a trick? They are formed by catastrophic events like the world wide flood.

OTOOLEFAN: Don’t you know that we have fossils that go back MILLIONS of years?

bill453: no they don’t.

OTOOLEFAN: Please tell me WHERE in the Bible it says how old the Earth is?

bill453: God created the earth a fully developed planet just like He created Adam a fully developed man.

OTOOLEFAN: You don’t believe we have fossils that go back longer than 6,000 years?? What grade did you get in Science?

bill453: I did not say the earth is exactly 6k years old, I said about and I am not the final authority, the Bible is.

OTOOLEFAN: Who did Cain & Abel marry?

bill453: their sisters, the gene pool was uncontaminated.

bill453: I go by the lineage.

Fairy tales die hard.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 24, 2011 at 3:13 pm

    I am reading “The Age if Wonder” a review of science during the latter part of the 18th and early 19th centuries. Even then the Scientists and the Church had little problem getting along provided God as Creator was acknowledged. Fundamentalists were frowned upon. We are going backwards.

  2. September 23, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    “I blocked her for mocking God.” Does God really need your Twitter blockage?

  3. July 18, 2011 at 2:42 am

    An inspiring post! The interesting conversation on twitter reminds me of Galileo, who supported the heliocentric theory and was persecuted by Roman Catholic Church. I’m surprised that there are still some people who don’t believe in evolution. They are a bit like my grandmother who was a religious fanatic and used to say to me “you were born in a wealthy family because your behavior in your previous life was good.” She believed in reincarnation! Though I loved my grandmother, I couldn’t help laughing at what she said. Thanks for giving me a good opportunity to think about religion and science seriously.

  4. July 17, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Don you are a man of infinite patience. I could not deal with such a Moron.

  5. tmm
    July 17, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    “Tide comes in, tide goes out. Never a miscommunication”

    W
    T
    F

  6. janice murphy hartman
    July 17, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Quite an exchange. We see that mindset on twitter and from the Evangelical Right everyday. Hard to believe.

  7. July 17, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    Here, this will make your ears bleed and your eyes melt and make you want to scoop out your brain with a spoon and eat it yourself. http://oneblueeye.me/2011/you-dont-get-to-not-believe-in-facts/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

