Home > Uncategorized > West Wing Nut Job

West Wing Nut Job

By OTOOLEFAN

Since the debt ceiling “crisis” has now become an actual crisis, one overly dramatic voice filled with pauses that would make even William Shatner jealous, has suddenly become President Obama’s biggest champion.

I’m talking about, of course, Lawrence O’Donnell.

For the past two weeks or so, O’Donnell has been advancing his theory that since President Obama originally wanted a clean vote on the debt ceiling, all of his offers and seeming concessions to the GOP have just been an epic political Rope-A-Dope.

As a result, Lawrence is now the new darling of a certain segment of the Left on Twitter who, despite past results, want to believe the President is actually a Secret Ninja Negotiator.

Those who question or differ with this interpretation are met with the ire of an ogre, it seems.  Nothing says liberal like intolerance.

No one wants to believe that President Obama  is playing the GOP for suckers more than I.  But past is prologue and we’ve seen this episode before.

One thing we’ve learned about this President is that like other Vulcans, he doesn’t bluff. That would be highly illogical.

In my opinion, the very act of bluffing violates Obama’s sense of fair play and reasonableness. He thinks everyone else’s motives are as honorable as his.

“I take John Boehner at his word.”

You do??

By now, does anyone seriously believe Obama has bluffing skills after the previous negotiations we’ve witnessed since he’s become President? What in Obama’s track record would lead one to believe he’s such a great bluffer? Even his poker pals from his state senate days say he was a lousy bluffer and folded unless he had a very strong hand. Was he just pretending to be a lousy bluffer then too?

Maybe he didn’t want to close Gitmo, but just said that he did. Maybe he didn’t want to end the Bush tax cuts, but just said that he did. Maybe he’s not even a Democrat. Maybe that’s the biggest bluff of all, Lawrence.

When I think of President Obama’s negotiating strategy, that scene from “Planes, Trains and Automobiles” comes to mind.

“Anyone who would pay $50 for a cab, would surely pay $75.”

“Not necessarily.”

We all know what happens next.

The GOP, because of past negotiations, doesn’t take this idea of bluffing seriously. They have learned that if they just hold out, he gives in. He doesn’t seem to understand that the more he offers the GOP the more they think they can get out of him.

“I’ve been left at the altar now a couple of times.”

Once should have been enough, Mr. President.

It’s not that I dislike Lawrence O’Donnell or think he’s a poor advocate for Liberals, quite the contrary, I think he is often one of the strongest and most perceptive voices on the left. But not only do I think his theory is kooky, I think it’s highly destructive to the President himself.

Even if Lawrence is right, this is still bad politics because it spreads the idea that the President of the United States is not negotiating in good faith. How is this a good thing, Lawrence?

Furthermore, it gives people like Joe Scarborough a perfect opening to mainstream the GOP narrative that Obama is just fooling.

In my view, this whole scenario is just as disrespectful to the President as when John Boehner doesn’t return his phone calls, but calls CNN instead. In essence Lawrence O’Donnell is calling the President a liar and he’s doing this nightly.

Even if O’Donnell’s West Wing fantasy plays out and Obama somehow gets his clean debt ceiling vote at the 11th hour, our credit rating is still going to be downgraded. Isn’t this one of the things we’re trying to avoid?  How is that a victory for Obama, let alone the American people?

Lawrence O’Donnell is presenting us with an alternate reality in which President Obama is President Bartlet and there seems to be a lot of viewers  out there who desperately want to buy into this script.

I think HE needs a rewrite.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 11, 2011 at 11:25 am

    In my opinion it’s primarily the problem that for a number of reasons (angry black man?) the POTUS is constitutionally incapable of getting in someone’s face and telling them that he will make their life a living hell unless the other party cooperates.
    BUT SOMEONE NEEDS TO DO IT. For example, why isn’t Bill Daley calling out Boehner, Cantor, & McConnell out every effin day for the stupid crap they pull – for example releasing the track record of these Norquistians on the supercommittees, and demanding they renounce “the pledge”?

  2. Wanda
    August 5, 2011 at 2:27 am

    Well Said…My fav president has forgotten why we elected.him..sadly the gains of many thousands of liberal causes have lost years of growth power & public.confidence.Because of his indesiveness the herd is following the nutjobs who preach dividion-ptedjust-fear-discontent. USA..today..product of GWBush Chenney.Ashcroft Rimsfield.They wanted.and got exactly what they planned.FEAR! Sad to say but Spot-On on bluffing…Sorry Lawrence..

  3. July 31, 2011 at 7:23 am

    Obama bluffing skills 101:

    Barack Obama rejected public funding for the fall presidential campaign yesterday…

    John McCain confirmed later yesterday that he will take $84.1 million in taxpayer funding for the general election, and accused Obama of reneging on a pledge to do the same. “He has completely reversed himself and gone back, not on his word to me, but the commitment he made to the American people,” McCain told reporters.

    HaHa, how’s your observation skills?
    Also…

    Oct 24, 2008 – Obama will not release Birth Certificate.
    Apr 27, 2011 – The White House has released President Obama’s long-form birth certificate.

    • Breassia
      August 1, 2011 at 6:30 pm

      Yep, he release the BS allright. And it is a fake…even completely obvious for a naked eye…
      Just enlarge it and see where the forgery took place….and couple details info:
      His fater couldn’r have been a citizen of Kenya (Obama was born in 1962 when the territory was a British colony and becane Kenya couple years later- check it out!!!!, Now next- fathers race was listed as African- in 1962 the race would be listed as NEGRO) So, if that would be a copy of the original document the information would have reflected the actual information of that era!!

      • Wanda
        August 5, 2011 at 2:31 am

        You R kidding right? If not seek help

  4. Richard French
    July 29, 2011 at 10:36 am

    President Obama may have been born in Hawaii, but let’s remember, he’s a Chicago politician…and never underestimate a Chicago politician when it comes to politics. (An homage to Facilli’s warning never to underestimate a Sicilian when it comes to death). He may not bluff well, but the best bluff looks like it’s not a bluff, right up to the end.

  5. July 29, 2011 at 6:07 am

    Ah, me. From the headline down to about the end of the fifth paragraph (“Nothing says liberal like intolerance.” Really? I think just the opposite.), I so disagreed with you. But then I kept reading and I see the light. I oh so reluctantly have to agree.

    Lawrence is, or was, an insider. He’s so full of himself I sometimes have to turn him off, but when he’s hot he’s hot. I don’t think Obama is capable of bluffing, either, based solely on his past record, but I want to believe he could do it, and I want to trust that Lawrence, the insider, knows what he’s talking about.

    But dammit, you make sense here. O’Donnell is doing a disservice to Obama by repeating his theory over and over. It does make the president look like a liar. If he were a Republican, no problem. But since he’s a Democrat — well, we can’t have that now, can we?

    I go back and forth with O’Donnell, mainly because of his attitude. But yesterday on AM Joe he took on a freshman tea party congressman and he was snarkily brilliant. He sunk in his fangs and he never let go.

    Good job here. Dammit.

  6. July 28, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    A great post! This post shows there are some Americans who represent the “sane” voices of America and this is why I still don’t give up hope for them. The USA is the most influential and powerful country whose economical crisis affects us as well. Therefore, I hope grassroots movements like this will help the situation improved. Thank you.

  7. Rob
    July 28, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    It seems to me that it is the people who want the rich to pay there taxes.How the xxxx did they get away without paying them in the first place we all need to struggle to end this debt.

    • Breassia
      August 1, 2011 at 6:35 pm

      Hmmm, why is that Job Czar Jeff Imelt didn’t pay taxes on 5 billion profit? And why is he moving one of the departments to China- I thought he is supposed to help the job market????
      GE profit was over 62% !!!!
      And he isb’t paying his share, does he?

  8. Laura G.
    July 28, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Ever since I first saw Obama, he first came onto the scene, there has been something about him that I disliked. Something off setting-but couldn’t quite put my finger on. Another friend agreed with me-summing it up with “I think Obama is nothing that anyone thinks; I think he’s a sonuvabtich.”

    I’ve been following Lawrence-a week ago, he was the voice of optimism. Monday and Tuesday this week-not so much. BUT, I really respect his opinion-he’s been right a few times. And you know why? Because he has been on the INSIDE. He knows extremely well how it all works. So, I follow him-and hope that he is right again.

    In the meantime, I’m working on contingency plan-if Social Security doesn’t go out, I have just enough to pay my rent, but nothing else. But it will buy me a month.

  9. stillonline
    July 28, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    I’ve had this same internal debate. Some days I watch Lawrence because I need to believe in his wild theory. Other days the same stuff just irritates the hell out of me. Some days I unsubscribe to Move On and other days I tweet it.

    I have a feeling that Obama is none of the above and while we spend our time and spin our wheels trying to see the man behind the curtain – we miss what’s important. We ought to know by now that the government is much bigger than one person – even one ninja master, three dimensional chess playing President. I don’t have time to be coddled by Lawrence. I prefer watching him get in Scarborough’s face. That we can use. But telling me the President is a lying and sending shock waves through the world economy – is scary storytelling.

    I think Obama is Jimmy Stewart in It’s a wonderful Life. He really didn’t want to run a bank. But somebody broke Wall Street and he was sitting at the desk. I think he’d take his honeymoon money and save the bank. And I hope that – like in the Frank kapra movie – persistant goodness eventually wins.

  10. July 28, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    I am sorry to say I have to agree; this isn’t Obama being crazy like a fox, more like a ChickenHawk to Boehner’s Foghorn T. Leghorn

  11. July 28, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    I agree Don. I’ve been wondering what’s going on with O’Donnell.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

